Election 2018: Rutherford County School Board Forum

Jul 17, 2018 at 02:00 pm by League of Women Voters

A candidate forum for the Rutherford County School Board was heldTuesday, July 10 at the Historic Rutherford County Courthouse. 

Candidates for the Rutherford County School Board on the Aug. 2 ballot will have an opportunity to introduce themselves and respond to a moderator's questions on a timed basis.

This event was hosted by the League of Women Voters of Murfreesboro/Rutherford County in conjunction with Rutherford County TV (RCTV).

School Board Sample Ballot

School Board, Zone 1
Tammy Sharp
Dow Smith

School Board, Zone 2
Mike Belden
Katie Darby
Tiffany Johnson
Marvin L. Whitworth

School Board, Zone 7
Jim Estes

The League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan political organization, encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy. Membership in the League is open to men and women of all ages. For more information about this program and the League, visit lwvrutherford.org.

The League attempts to scheduled forums for all contested general elections. In order to assure impartiality and comply with FCC rules for televised events, a majority of candidates must agree to participate in order for the League to go forward with the forum.


Sections: News


or Register to post a comment