Murfreesboro Police promotes 3, honors 20-year and 30-year employees, K9 retirement

Jul 19, 2021 at 07:00 am by Voice Wire

Retired MPD K9 GMan
L-R Deputy Chief Eric Cook, K9 Handler Officer Angela Alexander, Chief Michael Bowen

Murfreesboro Police Department (MPD) Chief Michael Bowen announces the promotion of three (3) sergeants to the rank of Lieutenant, acknowledges several long-time employees and celebrates the retirement of a police K9 at a ceremony Friday, July 16.

Lieutenant Marja Atchley started as a patrol officer in 2007. Atchley served as a Field Training Officer and received a promotion to Sergeant in January 2014. She has completed the FBI LEEDA Trilogy program and graduated from the Northwestern School of Police Command and Staff in May 2021. In her role as Lieutenant, Atchley has been assigned to the Uniformed Division.  She received her bachelor’s in business administration from Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU) in 2016.

Lieutenant Harry Haigh started his career with MPD in 1999. Haigh has served in various roles, the COPS Unit, Field Training Officer and Sergeant in the Uniform Patrol Division, Directed Patrol, and most recently Crime Free Housing Program.  He completed the FBI Trilogy program in 2019 and the Southeastern Leadership Academy in April 2021.  Haigh will continue his role in the Administrative Services Division.

Lieutenant Justin Lemanski has been with MPD since 2001.  During his career with the department, he served as Field Training Officer, Special Operations Unit, Field Training & Evaluation Program (FTEP) Supervising Sergeant, Honor Guard, and Firearms Instructor. Lemanski has received the FBI Trilogy Award and completed the Northwestern School of Police Command and Staff in 2018.  He received a Bachelor of Science degree from Middle Tennessee State University in 2000. Lemanski will continue his role in the FTEP. 

“We are proud of the accomplishments of each of these individuals and look forward to them serving in their new roles,” said Chief Michael Bowen.

A promotion ceremony for the new lieutenants took place at MPD Headquarters. 

The chief also presented service awards at the ceremony. 

L-R Deputy Chief Eric Cook, Lt. Harry Haigh, Chief Michael Bowen
L-R Deputy Chief Eric Cook, Lt. Justin Lemanski, Chief Michael Bowen
L-R Deputy Chief Eric Cook, Lt. Marja Atchley, Chief Michael Bowen

Recognized for 20-Years of Service are School Patrol Mary Smith (Date of Employment (DOE) 11/12/99), Officer Robert McAdams (DOE 01/31/00) Detective David Harrison (DOE 03/06/00), Officer Anthony Whitehead (DOE 03/06/00), Sergeant Scott Newberg (DOE 11/13/00), Officer Rathana Sidadouangleuth (DOE 11/13/00), Evidence Technician Dawn Brown (DOE 11/27/00), Evidence Technician Robbie Walls (DOE 02/05/01), Sergeant Robert Holloway (DOE 06/29/01), Lieutenant Justin Lemanski (DOE 02/29/01),

School Resource Officer Stan Meeks (DOE 06/29/01), and School Resource Officer Brice Robbins (DOE 06/29/01).

30-Year Service awardees include Detective Greg Flanagan (DOE 05/29/90), Sergeant Mike Turner (DOE 10/22/90), Sergeant Tim Higgins (DOE 02/05/91), and Sergeant Keith Sanders (DOE 05/10/91).

Bowen recognized long-time police K9 GMan for his contribution to the department.  GMan officially retired April 29 after eight years of working at MPD.

Sections: Other News


or Register to post a comment