Rick Stockstill named Tennessee Sports Writers Association Coach of the Year and Player of the Year

Jul 02, 2019 at 12:00 pm by Voice Wire

Rick Stockstill

Middle Tennessee Head Coach Rick Stockstill and quarterback Brent Stockstill were named the Tennessee Sports Writers Association Coach of the Year and Player of the Year as announced by the organization on Tuesday.

Stockstill, who has now won the TSWA Coach of the Year award three times, led MT to an 8-6 record in 2018 and a school record fourth straight bowl appearance. The Blue Raiders also played and hosted the C-USA Championship game for the first time.

Middle Tennessee was picked by conference media members in the preseason to finish third in the East Division, but it defied those odds with a 7-1 league record and first division title.

On their way to winning the East, the Blue Raiders took down Florida Atlantic and Marshall in back-to-back weeks to start C-USA play, the two teams voted higher than MT in the preseason. They also rattled off five league wins in a row before falling in the C-USA Championship.

Brent Stockstill capped a record-setting career with a C-USA MVP award in 2018 and owns virtually every passing record in Blue Raider history.

Stockstill ended his career as the MT record holder in passing yards (12,495), touchdown passes (106), 300-yard passing games (19), 400-yard passing games (3), passing yards per game (277.7), completions (1055) and attempts (1610).

He was also top 10 all-time in C-USA history in touchdown passes, completions, attempts, passing yards, completion percentage, and 300-yard passing games.


or Register to post a comment

Get the Newsletter!