Three Lady Raiders make C-USA all-conference teams

Mar 11, 2019 at 02:17 pm by Voice Wire

MTSU Lady Raiders

Middle Tennessee landed three players on all-conference teams as announced by Conference USA Monday.

Lady Raider senior standouts A'Queen Hayes and Alex Johnson landed spots on the all-conference teams, while freshman point guard Taylor Sutton was named to the All-Freshman team.

The all-conference and specialty awards are voted on by leagues coaches and media members. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their players.

Hayes and Johnson were Middle Tennessee's dynamic duo all season and were two of the top tandems in C-USA.

Hayes earned a spot on the league's first-team, while Johnson landed on the second team. It marked the third consecutive year for Johnson to earn a spot on an all-conference team, in addition to being named C-USA Freshman of the Year in 2016.

Sutton was named to the five-person All-Freshman team after turning in a solid rookie campaign.

"Alex and Queen have meant a great deal to our team all season. I don't know where we would be without them, and Taylor has just stepped right in and been remarkable as a true freshman," Lady Raider Head Coach Rick Insell said. "I am proud for all three of our players who received recognition."

Hayes became the first graduate transfer for Lady Raider program in 2018-19 and was dynamic in her only season as a Lady Raider. Hayes was the only C-USA player to lead her team in scoring, rebounding and assists. She scored double figures in 23 of 29 games and registered seven double-doubles. She ranks among the Top 10 in seven different statistical categories in C-USA.

"Queen is quite remarkable," Insell said. "At 5-foot-8, she is easily one of the best rebounding guards I've coached, maybe the best. Queen is a scorer and also does a good job of getting others involved. The greatest attribute about Queen is she's a competitor."

Johnson turned in another solid campaign in her senior season. Johnson is 25th nationally for field goal percentage with a .568 mark, and she ranks among the Top 10 in four C-USA statistical categories. Johnson was among the Top 10 in scoring with 15.2 points per game, and scored double figures in 15 of 16 conference games and 25 of 29 overall.

"Alex Johnson is one of the most consistent players I have had at Middle Tennessee, and we will miss her consistency among other things," Insell said. "Alex gives you everything she has every day. She takes on double teams every night and just keeps on battling. I have a great deal of respect for Alex, what she stands for and what she means to Lady Raider basketball."

Sutton was stunning in her debut season as a Lady Raider. The Atlanta, Ga., native was a four-time C-USA Freshman of the Week honoree, and was named USBWA National Freshman of the Week, Dec. 11.

Sutton was Middle Tennessee's third-leading scorer at 10.5 points per game. She produced 15 double-figure scoring games and produced multiple 3-pointers in 15 games. Sutton started 27 consecutive games to start her Lady Raider career before giving way to senior Katie Collier, who received the start on Senior Night.

"Taylor Sutton certainly showed great composure for a true freshman," Insell said. "I've had some really talented point guards come through Middle Tennessee that were not able to play as freshmen, but Taylor really came in, worked hard and took coaching. She was solid for us throughout the season."

Specialty awards for Defensive Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Sixth Player of the Year will be announced Tuesday. The Player of the Year and Coach of the Year will be announced Wednesday.

All-Conference USA First Team
Kierra Anthony, LA Tech
Shayna Gore, Marshall
A'Queen Hayes, Middle Tennessee
Terriell Bradley, North Texas
Erica Ogwumike, Rice
Nancy Mulkey, Rice
Shonte Hailes, Southern Miss
Rachael Childress, UAB
Dee Givens, WKU

All-Conference USA Second Team
Laia Raventos, Charlotte
Alex Johnson, Middle Tennessee
Victoria Morris, Old Dominion
Nicole Iademarco, Rice
Deanna Kuzmanic, UAB
Miyah Barnes, UAB
Marie Benson, UTSA
Raneem Elgedawy, WKU

All-Freshman Team
Jazmin Harris, Charlotte
Ce'Nara Skanes, FIU
Taylor Sutton, Middle Tennessee
Ajah Wayne, Old Dominion
Meral Abdelgawad, WKU

All-Defensive Team
Laia Raventos, Charlotte
Anisha George, North Texas
Nancy Mulkey, Rice
Ajah Wayne, Old Dominion
Dee Givens, WKY


or Register to post a comment

Get the Newsletter!