Town of Smyrna honors 2021 Lifetime Service and 2021 Young Leader Award Winners

Feb 21, 2022 at 09:30 am by Voice Wire

Kenneth “Coon” Victory, Lifetime Service Award Winner Carolyn Peebles, Young Leader Award Winner Rachel Johnson, and Smyrna Mayor Mary Esther Reed  *Holly Pendergrass was unable to attend and
Kenneth “Coon” Victory, Lifetime Service Award Winner Carolyn Peebles, Young Leader Award Winner Rachel Johnson, and Smyrna Mayor Mary Esther Reed *Holly Pendergrass was unable to attend and is not pictured

Mike Moss, Smyrna Parks and Recreation Director, is pleased to announce Carolyn Peebles as the 2021 Kenneth “Coon” Victory Lifetime Service Award winner and Rachel Johnson and Holly Pendergrass as the 2021 Young Leader Award winners.  All three individuals were honored at a Volunteer of the Year event held earlier this evening.


Carolyn Peebles is an advocate, faithful volunteer, and trailblazer in the Smyrna community.  She was the founding Board Chair of both the Smyrna/La Vergne Food Bank and Friends of Smyrna Library, working to make sure that services and opportunities were easily accessible to residents in north Rutherford County.  She has served as an officer of the Smyrna Jaycees, Chair of Alert Community Development Corporation’s Back to School Bash, Treasurer of the Smyrna Girls Softball League, and as a Member of the Rutherford County Election Commission.


“Carolyn has been a committed volunteer, serving numerous non-profit organizations in the Smyrna community for over 50 years,” shared Moss.  “She embodies the volunteer spirit and continues to serve others through her church, the Rotary Club of Smyrna, and as Chair of the Town of Smyrna’s Historic Zoning Commission.”


The Lifetime Service Award is named after the first recipient, Kenneth “Coon” Victory.  Recipients are Smyrna citizens who have distinguished themselves by years of unselfish and dedicated volunteer service to the Smyrna community.


Balancing academics and volunteer work is something both Rachel Johnson and Holly Pendergrass do extremely well.  The Smyrna High School seniors are involved in numerous organizations at school and in the Smyrna community, while balancing extremely rigorous academic course loads.  Their determination and dedication resonated with Smyrna High School National Honor Society sponsor and teacher Louis Bennett.


“Rachel is always the first to volunteer for projects; furthermore, she seeks not just to be involved, but to be a leader within these groups,” noted Bennett in her nomination letter.  “I have known Rachel for four years and watched her grow into one of the most virtuous and responsible students I have ever worked with.”


Bennett also highlighted the volunteer spirit embodied by Holly Pendergrass in her nomination letter.  “She has completed 1,344 volunteer hours at Critter Cavalry,” wrote Bennett.  “I am honored to have Holly as part of my National Honor Society.  She is a virtuous and caring young lady who makes a notable difference in her community.”


The Young Leader Award recognizes an individual(s) under the age of 21 who is a dedicated volunteer, an exemplary student, and has completed a community service project.  Both the Lifetime Service and Young Leader Awards are selected by the Smyrna Parks and Recreation Advisory Board.


Smyrna Parks and Recreation also recognized coaches, parents, businesses, and athletes for their support, dedication, and sportsmanship throughout the 2021 seasons. 


“The success of recreational sports in our community is a direct reflection of the businesses, coaches, parents, and players who believe in and support the value this brings to our residents,” shared Marty Smith, Recreation Program Supervisor for the Town.  “It is our privilege to celebrate their commitment.”


Winners are as follows:


Business of the Year: SRM Concrete

Coach of the Year:  Craig Taylor

Stewardship Award: Smyrna Youth Football

Parents of the Year:  Amber and Patrick Mashburn

Smyrna Adult Softball League Volunteer of the Year:  Alysha Grubbs

Smyrna Baseball League Volunteer of the Year:  Eric Jordan

Smyrna Baseball League Athlete of the Year:  Jason Dyer

Smyrna Fastpitch League Volunteer of the Year:  Kayla Jessen

Smyrna Fastpitch Athlete of the Year:  Makayla Keweza

Smyrna Junior Basketball League Volunteer of the Year:  Fred Sandifer

Smyrna Junior Basketball League Athlete of the Year:  Anthony Pastrana

Smyrna Youth Football League Volunteer of the Year:  Crystal Stone

Smyrna Youth Football Athlete of the Year:  Kobe Campbell

Stones River Futbol Club Volunteer of the Year:  April Lankford

Stones River Futbol Club Athlete of the Year:  Isaac Adenoyin


Sections: Other News