Retta Gardner to chair United Way's 2021-22 Board of Directors

Jul 30, 2021 at 08:37 am by United Way

The United Way of Rutherford and Cannon Counties has announced its 2021-22 board officers and members, according to a press release.

Retta Gardner (below), partner of A Mortgage Boutique, will serve as the 2021-22 Board Chair; Board Chair-Elect/Secretary is Billy Bruce, UPS; Development Chair is Richard Stone, Reliant Bank; Community Impact Chair is Dr. Jill Austin, Middle Tennessee State University; Finance Chair/Treasurer is Don Clayton, Ingram Content Group; Policy and Nominations Chair is Matthew Stump, FirstBank Mortgage; Endowment and Tocqueville Chair is Don Witherspoon, retired from Pfizer; and Immediate Past Board Chair is Dr. Russ Galloway, Emergency Physicians of Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital.


Meagan Flippin, president and CEO of the United Way of Rutherford and Cannon Counties, said, “Our board of directors provides invaluable leadership, effective decision-making and expertise towards our organization’s pursuit of excellence and results. Our local United Way is fortunate to have the talent and resources from this group of passionate individuals.”

New board members beginning their terms in 2021 are: Buffy Bundshuh, Bancorp South; Dr. Trey Duke, Murfreesboro City Schools; Joe Gleason, TriStar StoneCrest Hospital; Gernell Floyd-Jenkins, Patterson Park Community Center; Chris Jones, Middle Tennessee Electric; James McCarroll, First Baptist Church; Jason Schmitt, Old Time Pottery; and Deb Thompson, retired from State Farm.

Returning board members include: Dr. Jill Austin, Middle Tennessee State University; Billy Bruce, UPS; Dr. Gloria Bonner, retired from Middle Tennessee State University; Patrick Cammack, Rutherford County Chamber of Commerce; Courtney Chavez, Pinnacle Financial Partners; Angie Drake, CBIZ Insurance; Don Clayton, Ingram Content Group; Vicki Eastham, Middle Tennessee State University; James Evans, Rutherford County Schools; Dr. Russ Galloway, Emergency Physician of Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital; Retta Gardner, A Mortgage Boutique; Beth Goodner, TrustPoint Hospital; Brian Hercules, Town of Smyrna; Casey Rainey, Rainey Asset Management of Raymond James; Chase Salas, Elite Insurance Solutions; Terry Schneider, Fast Signs; Robin Seay, Parks; Tim Slate, Nissan North America; Dr. Ellen Slicker, Psychologist; Rick Smith, Publix Super Markets; Ashley Stearns, Trail, Coleman & Stearns, PLLC, Attorneys at Law; Richard Stone, Reliant Bank; Matthew Stump, FirstBank Mortgage; Brian Sullivan, Envision AESC; Kasey (Tab) Talbott, Gateway Title; Martha Tolbert, retired from Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital; Diane Turnham, Middle Tennessee State University; and Don Witherspoon, retired from Pfizer.

For more information, please visit

Sections: Other News


or Register to post a comment